The Presidium


Petra Merkel

Petra Merkel worked as a clerk before she started her political career. From 1989 to 2001 the Berlin native was Member of the Berlin House of Representatives and from 1995 to 2001 she worked as Parliamentary Secretary of the SPD group in the House of Representatives. She was Member of the German Bundestag from 2002 to 2013 and member of various parliamentary committees and bodies and became Chairman of the Budget Committee in 2009. Petra Merkel has been member of the IB Executive Committee since 2007. She was elected President of the IB Presidium during the IB General Assembly in 2013. TEST

Honorary Presidents

Dr. Herbert Ehrenberg

In 1995, the former Federal Minister of Labour and Social Affairs was elected to the board of IB. In 1997, he succeeded Dr. h.c. Georg Leber as the Chairman of the association, and was from 2001 until 2003 President of the Internationaler Bund (IB).

Bruno W. Koebele

Bruno W. Koebele , the former President of the German Construction Union (IG Bau) and Senator e.h., was elected to the honorary board, nowadays called IB Presidium, in 1997 for the first time. Bruno W. Koebele was the elected President of the Internationaler Bund (IB) from 2003 to 2013.

Honorary Chairman

Dr. h.c. Georg Leber

Dr. h.c. Georg Leber was head of the association for 16 years from 1981 to 1997. In recognition of his services for IB, the former Federal Minister was appointed Honorary Chairman of the IB.

Vice Presidents

Uwe Berner

The graduate economist was, inter alia, staff manager at Standard Elektrik Lorenz AG (ITT) and board member of the IVECO Magirus AG and the ZF Friedrichshafen AG. He is a member of the Presidium of Südwestmetall, chairman of the board of the Training Centre of the Baden-Württemberg Economy and Management Board of the National Association of Baden-Württemberg Betriebskrankenkassen. Since 2013 Uwe Berner is a member of the IB Presidium.

Herbert Mai

Herbert Mai was a government inspector after finishing his vocational education for the higher administrative service. Later he actively worked for the Union of Public Services, Transport and Traffic (ÖTV) in Hesse. From 1995 to 2001 he was Chairman of the Federal ÖTV. He became a board member of Fraport AG in 2001 where he was responsible for personnel service benefits until his retirement in 2012. He has been member of the IB Presidium since 2007.

Georg Mehl

Georg Mehl, a MA Business Administrator and Senator e.h. was director of the Munich based Allianz General Insurance Ltd, Chief Executive Officer of various companies of the Württemberg group, Spokesman of the Board of Wüstenrot & Württemberg AG and board member of the Hamburg Hanseatic Marine Insurance AG. Georg Mehl has been member of the IB Presidium since 2003.

Further Members of the Presidium

Dr. Lale Akgün, Member of the German Bundestag,Psychotherapist, Author, Cologne
Mechthild Bayer, Former Head of Continuing Education Policy at the ver.di National Executive Board; freelance consultant for continuing education and human resources development
Steffen Bockhahn, Senator for Youth and Social Affairs, Health, Schools and Sports in Rostock
Carola von Braun, Vicepresident of the Evangelische Akademie Berlin
Harald Denecken, retired Lord Mayor of Karlsruhe
Dr. Sabine Graf, Deputy Chairwoman of the DGB (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund German Trade Union Confederation), District of North Rhine-Westphalia
Marion Johannsen, Senator retired, President of the European Movement Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart
Katharina Landgraf, Member of the German Bundestag, Berlin
Dr. Reinhard Müller, independent auditor and tax consultant, ambassador, former partner and member of the PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) management, Wiesbaden
Omid Nouripour, Member of the German Bundestages, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Franz Prüß, Former Executive Director of the Institute of Educational Sciences, University of Greifswald
Prof. Dr. h.c. Christa Randzio-Plath, Lawyer, former Member of the European Parliament, Hamburg
Dietrich von Reyher, Director Human Resources and Social Affairs Bosch Rexroth AG i.R., Nürtingen
Harald Schartau, Director and Member of the Board of the Georgsmarienhütte Holding GmbH, Georgsmarienhütte
Wilhelm Schickler, retired Head of the German Labour Agency Berlin-Brandenburg, Nürnberg
Konrad Tack, Managing Director Foundation "working for the disabled" (AFC), Berlin
Hans-Joachim Wilms, European Affairs Commissioner of the Labour Union for Construction, Agriculture and Environment Federal Board, Barmstedt


Open mail program (if configured) or show email address

mail program email